Countdown to Edinburgh

It has been a while since I wrote, but to be honest nothing much has been happening.

I got a bit carried away and have entered some more races. Those are Peterhead half and the BRG.

This weekend it was all about getting the miles in because it is now only 3 weeks until the EMF half.  So I wanted to get a long run in this weekend.  I managed to arrange with one of my friends to run from home to Hazlehead parkrun then run parkrun and run home again after a cuppa.  Was a bit of a long slog towards the end but we managed around 11.7 miles.  Was really happy with that although my quads were not too chuffed.  When I got home this was waiting for me:

Purple so at the back.
Purple so at the back.

Then today it was Dunecht Dash 5k. This is a lovely local race, especially if you get the weather. Was a bit on the cold side today and was a bit windy.  Thankfully the rain stayed off so we didn’t get soaked. Was planning to take it really easy but as is so easy in this race I went off a bit too quickly.  I was able to find a reasonably comfortable pace and tried to keep going as long as I could.

I was well chuffed to manage a season best of 38:25 and I was happy that they had enough medals this year:

Medal :)
Medal 🙂

Next on the agenda is Baker Hughes next Sunday, but before that we have a new beginners block starting at jogscotland so looking forward to meeting loads of new people and helping them to achieve their goals.

It is only another month before I start marathon training again. I am hoping to come up with some wacky fundraising ideas (doubtful), but I will again be raising money for the Gathimba Edwards Foundation. I decided to have another shot at a marathon as I am sure I can do better. There will be a bottle of pink Bollinger up for grabs this year if you guess my finish time. 🙂

Happy running.

Leave a comment