It’s been too long!

I didn’t realise it had been so long since my last blog. I kept meaning to write one, but never seemed to get round to it. So I guess it’s time for an update. Almost a 1 year on update too.

Quite a lot has changed in my life this past year, from losing mum almost a year ago now and taking on my biggest challenge which was Race to the Stones. I’ll keep this as the abridged version and then blog more recently in the future. I’m relying in my lovely readers to hassle me so I keep my word on this one!

So, what’s changed. I have changed my job. Losing mum meant that I had a bit of a realisation that I wasn’t enjoying my job and that life it way to short not to give following your dream a shot, so I gave up my full time job for a part time job, working 5 mornings per week at a lower pay grade. I now provide Admin Support to the 3 Service Managers for my Local Council’s Leisure Service. I also attempted to start up my business (Synergy Fitness Alba) but because of my previous full time hours I haven’t really managed to give it the time it deserved, so it’s kind of been on the back burner. I still have my exercise instructor post, so I do a once a week circuits class which is enjoyable.

I am now qualified to teach water fitness and have taken a couple of aquafit classes, which are great fun both to take part in and to teach and I took part in a Disability Inclusion workshop in conjunction with some online training.

Have delivered some other classes more recently and have a few things in the pipeline through work. Just waiting to see if they are going to work out, but hoping so as I really enjoy the teaching part.

Other than that I have embarked on a step count streak. I have now reached 185 of doing a minimum of 10,000 steps per day. I’ve had to drag my ass out in all weathers, but I must say it’s been really good for me.

I have also completed my Coaching in Running Fitness qualification and just waiting for the license through.

Running wise it’s been a bit of a mixed bag. Race to the Stones took a very long time to recover from really and I just haven’t been interested in doing much. I have however signed up for Yorkshire Marathon in October, following my 12th London rejection. Finally decided that if I get rejected that many times from London, I just won’t bother any more. There are plenty of other races out there and to be honest, not sure I’m that comfortable with that many people around me.

Training for Yorkshire has started this week as I’m giving myself a nice long lead in. Mainly because I really need it. I would describe my running right now as pretty pants, with occassional glimmers of hope. I know things will get better, but I’ve not yet managed to get into a routine. It will come together, I know it will. I just need to find some motivation somewhere, so if you’ve got some at the back of a cupboard, please do send it my way.

Most recently life was tinged with sadness again following the loss of my oldest cat, Poppy. She’d been with me for 15 years and was quite a character and so much part of the family. I actually miss her waking me up at about 4.30am looking for food.

Poppy

There have been some highlights too. In January I started going open water swimming, or more accurately going for a dook and jumping the waves in the sea with my friend, Sandra. I can’t get there every week, but something about being beside the sea brings me peace. When I haven’t been able to go for a dook, I’ve been going walks beside the sea, which I find so calming and restorative. Hoping for more of that this year.

The View from my First Dook

I had big plans for my big birthday next year, but I think I may have to evaluate them as I don’t think I’m going to be able to put that plan into action, so I’ll need to think of something else. Sugessions welcome 🙂

Well done if you’ve managed to read this far. I’ll sign off for now but will start to document my marathon journey again in the coming weeks.

2 thoughts on “It’s been too long!”

  1. So lovely to read your update! You really have done a lot since last year- riding the high and lows of the waves of life (quite literally!)
    Will look forward to the next post 😀x

  2. You’ve had a tough year Carol but onwards and upwards. York was my first ever marathon and I really enjoyed it but London was my absolute favourite one, really enjoyed it and it was my PB. Might have been down to the training I don’t know but felt a very comfortable run ans great atmosphere. I got in on the ballot but it’s just luck if you get in. Look forward to hearing about your future adventures. Jackie

Leave a comment